Tags

, , , , , , ,

If you are following along here, you may remember my post about my Fabric8 entry design. Well.

I made it into the semi-finals!

Super amazing, right? That means I am one of 100 amateur fabric enthusiasts in the running for a real contract with a real fabric company to sell my real fabric designs. Winning the contest is basically like winning a job. And $1000. And a Wacom tablet. And Spoondollars.

Yes. This is a real big deal.

Until May 9th thousands of people (maybe more?!) from all over the world will be judging the 100 semifinalists and narrowing down their picks to the final 8. The Fabric8, if you will. The Fabric8 will then be asked to compile a complete collection of fabrics that will go though another set of voting. Then. Winner!

Now? Stress! Anxiety! Feelings of inadequacies.

To keep my mind off the voting happening over at Spoonflower, I’ve been working on coordinates. This is not me being cocky. This is me being productive. During my own voting session, I had trouble narrowing down a favorite design. Spoonflower is filled with a lot of amazing people with a lot of impressive talent. I feel very honored that I made it through the first elimination. Now I’m just trying to stay busy.

This is a tiny slice of what I’ve been working on. After a few crumpled papers and brutal  constructive criticism from John I am pretty happy where it is heading!

That reminds me! Voting officially closes over at Spoonflower on May 9th. That is in one day! If you like fabric and exciting contest sorts of things, you should go vote! You don’t have to pick mine, but if you like it you should!

Best of luck to all the designers involved. I’m excited to see what you all come up with in the next round!

Jen (drizzlydaydesignco)

