Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I love DIY. I love the channel, DIY blogs, how-to’s. The works.

I DO NOT like living in a construction zone. Especially with kids. It seems like even the slightest disturbance in the norm compounds into hours of extra cleanup and fuss. Sometimes these things just need to get done. It doesn’t mean I will like them. It’s so much nicer when the demolition dust is on the other side of a screen. A good, thick television or computer screen.

When we moved into the Innkeeper’s house, the owners took the opportunity to update the house after almost 10 years of living from the previous manager. The house needed it. The kitchen was gutted, the bedrooms were taken down to the studs and reinsulated (or in many cases insulated). Each layer of linoleum screamed out it’s decade as it was pried from the subfloor and new, modern laminate hardwood was laid in it’s place. While all this business was happening, we were tucked away in one of the hotel rooms. During the almost 2 month renovation, we stayed in at least 3 rooms. Our residency in the units really helped to highlight things we would love to do to update each for future guests. Our rooms are all cozy for a vacation, but for a family of 4, daily life gets a little too cozy. We (prematurely) kicked out the contractors, swept up the drywall dust and vowed to complete the rest of the remodels ourselves.

Then came summer.

Needless to say, we’ve been procrastinating a little too long. When John asked what I wanted for Mother’s Day, I had a few simple requests. Refinish the kitchen counters. Our kitchen counters were new when we moved in, but a light coat of linseed oil just didn’t hold up to the wear and tear of toddlers and a few mislaid cast iron skillets. To fix it would mean a bit of sanding and multiple layers of sealer. This means dust and fumes. Happy Mother’s Day! Not! While John heroically shouldered the task of sanding (and terrifying the dog) I decorated cookies with the kids at Mother’s Day Tea. They had a great time touring (see; running circles covered and filled with frosting) Gray’s General Store, and I had a great time chatting with Britta, the new owner of a great, local-handmade-centric craft and gift shop in Hoquiam.

I mentioned the perks of being an innkeeper. I cashed in my final Mother’s Day request when we arrived home and found out waterlox is pretty smelly for a pretty long time. We chose instead to stay in our newly finished remodel. Room 8.

Best Idea Ever.

Poor Hank was terrified of the power sander, but settled right in to life with a deck.

I hope you all had a wonderful Mother’s Day. I know I did!

